Usual Rover 800 Foibles

Please post pictures, specifications and worklogs of your cars in here.

Moderators: guru, SJG

Post Reply [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
wildrover04
Regular Visitor

Usual Rover 800 Foibles

Post by wildrover04 » Thu Jan 17, 2013 9:03 pm

Hi,
I've just acquired my 3rd 800 Sterling coupe. This time, for the first time in about a dozen 800's it's a KV6.
Couple of issues other than needing a good clean up need some advice from previous sufferers, if possible.
1) R960 radio comes up "code" and I'm an expert a reprogramming these things, except this time, the "code" won't disappear from the display and I don't get a beep on pressing key 1. I think there is a cassette jammed in the unit, would this prevent the re-programming?
2) I've driven today, Thursday 17th, non-stop - virtually - from London City Airport to Glasgow. 410 miles. The heater didn't function any of the way. Water level in expansion tank looks normal, engine didn't/doesn't overheat - if anything, it's lower than half way, but above mininum temp., but I was on Cruise Control at 75 mph just about all the way, so it would have been nice to get some warm air.
If anyone has had these issues before, and been able to clear them, I'd be grateful to hear from you.
Cheers,
Brian
(wildrover04)
820e/820i/827 Vitesse/827 Si/820 i/827 Sterling Coupe/827 Sterling/827 Sterling Coupe/825 SD - LHD /825 SLD/825 SD/Sterling Coupe
Brian
(wildrover04)

BlueRover
Rover Guru

Re: Usual Rover 800 Foibles

Post by BlueRover » Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:09 pm